LibGuides: Psychology: Critical Thinking Assignment- 1010

Part 1 - Your Field

Check these databases for ideas: (You will need to login to GALILEO with your LTC email and pw for access)

Occupational Outlook Handbook
- This link opens in a new window
The Occupational Outlook Handbook provides career information from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. The profiles featured cover hundreds of occupations and describe What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes BLS employment projections for the current decade.
Career & Technical Education
- This link opens in a new window
Career & Technical Education includes several hundred full-text titles in the area of vocational information. Areas include computer science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, accounting, and graphic design.
O*NET OnLine
- This link opens in a new window
O*NET OnLine is sponsored by the Employment & Training Administration of the U.S. Department of Labor and is developed by the National Center for O*NET Development. It includes information on skills, abilities, knowledge, work activities, and interests associated with occupations. Students, job seekers, and workforce, business, and human resource professionals can find occupations to explore, search for occupations that use designated skills, browse occupations by high growth industry, identify key in-demand occupations, view occupation summaries and details, and use crosswalks from other classification systems, such as military or apprenticeship.
Vocational & Career Collection
- This link opens in a new window
The Vocational & Career Collection provides full-text coverage for almost 350 trade and industry related periodicals including American Machinist, Modern Machine Shop, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Hotel and Motel Management, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more.

Lanier Technical College Programs of Study

In this section explain what your chosen career is. What your work environment looks like, equipment you will need, shift you will work, everything. Don't forget about what your future plans are!

Another good idea is to select concepts based on the job description you found and use it in Part 2.

Part 2 - Psychology Concepts

Check these databases for ideas: (You will need to login to GALILEO with your LTC email and pw for access)

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection includes articles from 410 full-text journal covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Psychology Database
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Psychology Journals encompasses a wide range of topics from leading psychological and psychosomatic publications. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.

Part 3 - Thinking Critically

Write a critical analysis of the concepts you chose in Part 2. Give SPECIFIC examples of activities that you might do on the job and discuss how the concepts from part 2 relate to the activities. For each concept form part 2 there should be at least 1 slide discussing how it relates to your career. Your final slides should discuss what you have learned about the field of psychology as a whole and how you will use that knowledge to enhance your job performance.

Parameters / Requirements

Title and Reference page - APA format with in-text citations
Parameters
Minimum 12 slides
Minimum 3 relevant images in presentation
Minimum 3 chapters selected for discussion: At least 1 concept selected per chapter
Minimum 3 References
- One reference link to an accurate description of your career field; this may be your program's page on the Lanier Tech website
- One peer-reviewed journal article from GALILEO
- You may use your book or another scholarly article

How to create a Hanging Indent on a PowerPoint

Scroll down to watch a how-to video.

In PowerPoint:

Insert a blank slide--> insert a text box--> type in your citations--> highlight ALL of your citations--> right click--> go to Paragraph--> Special--> Hanging.

While you are there, make sure your line spacing is set to double

Spacing --> Line spacing: --> Double --> OK.

Then go to the top at "Tell me what you what to do" and type in Hanging indent and press enter. (Be sure to keep ALL of your citations highlighted)

In Office 365 Online:

Insert a blank slide--> insert a text box--> type in your citations--> highlight ALL of your citations--> right click--> go to Paragraph--> Indention --> Before text --> increase to 0.5" Special--> Hanging.

While you are there, make sure your line spacing is set to double

Spacing --> Line spacing: --> Double --> OK.

In Google Slides:

Insert a blank slide--> insert a text box--> type in your citations--> highlight ALL of your citations--> right click--> go to Text Fitting: Indention --> Special--> Hanging Increase to 0.5"

You cannot change the line spacing in Slides.

How to Create a Hanging Indent on a PowerPoint Video

How to create a Hanging Indent in Powerpoint

Contact Us!

Lanier Technical College Libraries

Marci Manglitz
Director of Library Services
Hall Campus
770-533-6968
mmanglitz@laniertech.edu

Min Su
Librarian
Forsyth Campus
678-341-6636
msu@laniertech.edu

Tina Jordan
Librarian
Dawson Campus
678-513-5221
tjordan@laniertech.edu

Jocelyn Deal
Librarian
Barrow Campus
770-297-4525
jdeal@laniertech.edu

Psychology: Critical Thinking Assignment- 1010

Start Here