LibGuides: Building Automation Systems: Articles

Database Search Tips

Finding good information resources can be frustrating!

Make it a more satisfying experience by using these strategies:

Use specific search terms - A search for global warming will get thousands of results, but global warming and agricultural impact will result in fewer and more relevant results.
Try using the "Advanced Search" screen - You'll find it easier to add more terms to your search and specify where they should appear - for example, in an article title or subject heading.
Try an exact phrase - Searching for stem cell research will retrieve results with these three words, but to ensure that they appear as a phrase (together and in the same order), try putting them in quotation marks: "stem cell research".
Use "search options" or "limits" - limit your search to full text articles, academic/scholarly articles (what's this?) or to a specific date range. Limit features can often be found in a side menu or on the database's Advanced Search screen.

If you get stuck, contact your campus librarian!

Scholarly, Popular & Trade Journals

Your instructor may require articles from scholarly journals (also called academic or peer-reviewed journals) instead of popular magazines.

There's also something called a trade journal.

What's the difference? Here's a quick overview courtesy of Ithaca College Library.

Online Resources for Articles

Try some of the databases listed below when seeking journal articles on building automation system topics.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR OFF CAMPUS ACCESS TO GALILEO

Academic Search Complete and Research Library are "multidisciplinary" databases that cover articles on ALL subjects. RESEARCH TIP: Check the FULL TEXT box to limit your results to articles with the complete text readily available.

Academic Search Complete
- This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection, considered a multidisciplinary database, offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study.
Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects and includes full-text access for thousands of titles, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Career & Vocational

Career & Technical Education
- This link opens in a new window
Career & Technical Education includes several hundred full-text titles in the area of vocational information. Areas include computer science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, accounting, and graphic design.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
- This link opens in a new window
The Occupational Outlook Handbook provides career information from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. The profiles featured cover hundreds of occupations and describe What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes BLS employment projections for the current decade.
O*NET OnLine
- This link opens in a new window
O*NET OnLine is sponsored by the Employment & Training Administration of the U.S. Department of Labor and is developed by the National Center for O*NET Development. It includes information on skills, abilities, knowledge, work activities, and interests associated with occupations. Students, job seekers, and workforce, business, and human resource professionals can find occupations to explore, search for occupations that use designated skills, browse occupations by high growth industry, identify key in-demand occupations, view occupation summaries and details, and use crosswalks from other classification systems, such as military or apprenticeship.
Vocational & Career Collection
- This link opens in a new window
The Vocational & Career Collection provides full-text coverage for almost 350 trade and industry related periodicals including American Machinist, Modern Machine Shop, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Hotel and Motel Management, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more.

Journals & Publications

HVAC & R Research
- This link opens in a new window
Global topics include emission sources affecting indoor air quality, a thermogynamic approach to modeling refrigerant lubricating oil mixes, & energy conservation strategies.
Air Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration News
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, interviews, business profiles, new products, timely news of note and patent information for professionals in air conditioning, heating and refrigeration.
Science & Technology for the Built Environment
- This link opens in a new window

Contact Us!

Lanier Technical College Libraries

Marci Manglitz
Director of Library Services
Hall Campus
770-533-6968
mmanglitz@laniertech.edu

Min Su
Librarian
Forsyth Campus
678-341-6636
msu@laniertech.edu

Tina Jordan
Librarian
Dawson Campus
678-513-5221
tjordan@laniertech.edu

Jocelyn Deal
Librarian
Barrow Campus
770-297-4525
jdeal@laniertech.edu