LibGuides: ENGL 1101 Service Project: Amazing Friends Club

Ebooks on Adults with Special Needs and Disabilities

Handbook of Developmental Disabilities by Samuel L. Odom (Editor); Robert H. Horner (Editor); Martha E. Snell (Editor); Jan B. Blacher (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook via GALILEO

ISBN: 9781593854850

Publication Date: 2007-08-07

This authoritative handbook reviews the breadth of current knowledge about developmental disabilities: neuroscientific and genetic foundations; the impact on health, learning, and behavior; and effective educational and clinical practices. Leading authorities analyze what works in intervening with diverse children and families, from infancy through the school years and the transition to adulthood.
Life Planning for Adults with Developmental Disabilities by Judith Greenbaum
Call Number: Ebook via GALILEO

ISBN: 9781572244511

Publication Date: 2007-05-01

A Comprehensive Guide for Parents and Caregivers As any parent or caregiver of an individual with developmental disabilities can tell you, planning for the future of an adult with intellectual disabilities, Cerebral Palsy, severe autism, or another such condition requires hard work and good advice.
Family Support and Family Caregiving Across Disabilities by George H. S. Singer (Editor); David E. Biegel (Editor); Patricia Conway (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook via GALILEO

ISBN: 9780415682688

Publication Date: 2011-10-18

Family members provide the majority of care for individuals with disabilities in the United States. Recognition is growing that family caregiving deserves and may require societal support, and evidence-based practices have been established for reducing stress associated with caregiving. Despite the substantial research literature on family support that has developed, researchers, advocates and professionals have often worked in separate categorical domains such as family support for caregiving for the frail elderly, for individuals with mental illness, or for people with development disabilities. Family Support and Family Caregiving across Disabilities addresses this significant limitation through cross-categorical and lifespan analyses of family support and family caregiving from the perspectives of theory and conceptual frameworks, empirical research, and frameworks and recommendations for improvements in public policy.
Activities for Adults with Learning Disabilities by Helen Sonnet; Ann Taylor
Call Number: Ebook via GALILEO

ISBN: 9781843109754

Publication Date: 2009-07-15

This valuable resource for people working with adults with learning disabilities provides over 60 sessions of fun and engaging activities that aim to entertain and stimulate the minds of people with learning disabilities.
Job Coaches for Adults with Disabilities by Karola Dillenburger (Editor); Ewa Matuska (Editor); Marea de Bruijn (Editor); Hanns Rüdiger Röttgers (Editor); Blazej Piasek (Foreword by); Norman Sterritt (Foreword by); Lyn McKerr (Contribution by); Caterina Metje (Contribution by); Trish MacKeogh (Contribution by); Marcia Scherer (Contribution by); Angelika Anderson (Contribution by); Brian Fennell (Contribution by); Lucie Procházková (Contribution by); Helena Vadurová (Contribution by)
Call Number: Ebook via GALILEO

ISBN: 9781785925467

Publication Date: 2019-02-21

Defining the role of a job coach, this book sets out EU-wide training standards for helping people with disabilities gain and maintain meaningful employment. The book includes the perspectives of both people with disabilities and their job coaches, offering first-hand experience of the specific issues faced by those who want to enter the competitive open jobs market.

The Organization

The list below contains subject headings, which are terms you would use to search for information online or in GALILEO databases. You can try combinations of these terms in an advanced search too, refining and adjusting your search to get the results you want.

Subject terms:

adults with special needs and abilities + services for

mild to moderate disabilities

enhance social + life skills

safe enriching environment

promoting independence

educate community

advocacy for

rights and needs of individuals with special needs

social support

people with intellectual disabilities

social network

community support

Finding Statistics & Data

Disability Main Page (U.S. Census Bureau)
This site includes data from the Survey of Income and Program Participation,(including statistics on employment and disability), work disability data from the March Current Population Survey, data from the 1990 Census on the characteristics of persons with disabilities by state, metropolitan area, and county, and model-based estimates of the prevalence of specific disabilities for states and counties. Also included are other Census Bureau sites with disability data, and related Internet sites.
Disability Statistics (Employment and Disability Institute, ILR School, Cornell University)
The DisabilityStatistics.org web site condenses several data sources into a single, user-friendly, accessible, Internet resource. It also provides essential background information on key issues related to disability statistics. Registration is FREE. This site is produced by the Cornell Rehabilitation Research and Training Center for Economic Research on Employment Policy for People with Disabilities (RRTC).
State Data Info
Make customized charts of state, national, and individual disability data.
Annual Disability Statistics Collection | Center for Research on Disability Create custom county- or state-level data visualizations tailored to your needs.

Journals and Magazines

Journal of Intellectual Disability Research
Full Text:
02/01/1998 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
*Full text delay due to publisher restrictions ("embargo")
Subjects
Developmental Disabilities
Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities
Full text coverage
Feb 2010 (Vol. 48, no. 1) - present
subjects:
Education--Special Education And Rehabilitation ; Medical Sciences--Psychiatry And Neurology

more... less...

Education--Special Education And Rehabilitation ; Medical Sciences--Psychiatry And Neurology
Inclusion
Full text coverage
Jun 2013 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - present
Subjects
People With Disabilities--Physically Impaired
Inclusion is a peer-reviewed journal that provides a multidisciplinary forum for the presentation and discussion of evidence-based interventions and strategies that promote the full inclusion of people with intellectual and developmental disabilities in society.
Developmental Disabilities Network Journal
The Developmental Disabilities Network Journal is an open-source academic journal focused on rigorous scholarship about disability systems and the value and impact of the Developmental Disabilities network. This network is comprised of organizations and programs that conduct interdisciplinary pre-service preparation, advocacy, research, community services, and information dissemination with and on behalf of individuals with developmental disabilities and their families.

Links to Information & Research

The Arc
The Arch promotes and protects the human rights of people with intellectual and developmental disabilities and actively supports their full inclusion and participation in the community throughout their lifetimes. This website has extensive links to sources. Check out the "about us" tab for strategic framework as well as personal stories of those served.
FAQ's on individuals with intellectual disability
Disabilities Awareness Journalism (video stories)
The integration of people with disabilities into mainstream community settings has improved in recent years, but they still continue to be left out of key decision-making opportunities, ranging from personal life choices to national legislative policies.

N&R Publications has worked with dozens of disabilities-focused organizations telling stories that celebrate the accomplishments and successes of people with disabilities while advocating for disability rights and promoting inclusion and acceptance for all.
Community-Based Services for Individuals Living with Developmental Disabilities
GA Dept. of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilites

more... less...

DBHDD offers a variety of services to eligible individuals living with developmental disabilities
National Disability Organizations and Resources
Huge list of links to organizations for adults with developmental disabilites, compiled by Stanford U.
A comparison of support for two groups of young adults with mild intellectual disability
Personal support networks
The experience of social inclusion