Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Database Search Tips
Finding good information resources can be frustrating!
Make it a more satisfying experience by using these strategies:
Use specific search terms - A search for global warming will get thousands of results, but global warming and agricultural impact will result in fewer and more relevant results.
Try using the "Advanced Search" screen - You'll find it easier to add more terms to your search and specify where they should appear - for example, in an article title or subject heading.
Try an exact phrase - Searching for stem cell research will retrieve results with these three words, but to ensure that they appear as a phrase (together and in the same order), try putting them in quotation marks: "stem cell research".
Use "search options" or "limits" - limit your search to full text articles, academic/scholarly articles (what's this?) or to a specific date range. Limit features can often be found in a side menu or on the database's Advanced Search screen.
If you get stuck, contact your campus librarian!
Online Resources for Articles
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Career & Technical Education
Career & Technical Education includes several hundred full-text titles in the area of vocational information. Areas include computer science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, accounting, and graphic design.
O*NET OnLine is sponsored by the Employment & Training Administration of the U.S. Department of Labor and is developed by the National Center for O*NET Development. It includes information on skills, abilities, knowledge, work activities, and interests associated with occupations. Students, job seekers, and workforce, business, and human resource professionals can find occupations to explore, search for occupations that use designated skills, browse occupations by high growth industry, identify key in-demand occupations, view occupation summaries and details, and use crosswalks from other classification systems, such as military or apprenticeship.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook provides career information from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. The profiles featured cover hundreds of occupations and describe What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes BLS employment projections for the current decade.
Science and Technology Collection
Science & Technology Collection contains more than 830 full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences, and materials science.
ProQuest Telecommunications is an essential resource for anyone researching the industry or its technology. The database includes over 140 titles, with more than 115 available in full text.
Vocational & Career Collection
The Vocational & Career Collection provides full-text coverage for almost 350 trade and industry related periodicals including American Machinist, Modern Machine Shop, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Hotel and Motel Management, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more.
Journals & Publications
Photo by davidflanders on Flickr
This magazine is distributed in both print and digital format to North American T&D electric utility engineering, construction and maintenance personnel, and consulting engineers.
Electric Light & Power/PowerGrid International
This site provides daily news on a number of topics, including smart grid, T&D, metering, energy efficiency and demand response, renewable generation and customer service.
Features, commentary, interviews, news and trends, financial news and legislation for managers in America's investor-owned electric utilities.
Rural Electric Magazine
RE is the flagship publication of the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association.
Transmission & Distribution World
This magazine is edited for engineers and operating professionals in the electric power industry.