Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Database Search Tips
Finding good information resources can be frustrating!
Make it a more satisfying experience by using these strategies:
Use specific search terms - A search for global warming will get thousands of results, but global warming and agricultural impact will result in fewer and more relevant results.
Try using the "Advanced Search" screen - You'll find it easier to add more terms to your search and specify where they should appear - for example, in an article title or subject heading.
Try an exact phrase - Searching for stem cell research will retrieve results with these three words, but to ensure that they appear as a phrase (together and in the same order), try putting them in quotation marks: "stem cell research".
Use "search options" or "limits" - limit your search to full text articles, academic/scholarly articles (what's this?) or to a specific date range. Limit features can often be found in a side menu or on the database's Advanced Search screen.
If you get stuck, contact your campus librarian!
Scholarly, Popular & Trade Journals
Your instructor may require articles from scholarly journals (also called academic or peer-reviewed journals) instead of popular magazines.
There's also something called a trade journal.
What's the difference? Here's a quick overview courtesy of Ithaca College Library.
Online Resources for Atricles
Academic Search Complete
This scholarly collection, considered a multidisciplinary database, offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study.
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects and includes full-text access for thousands of titles, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Science and Technology Collection
Science & Technology Collection contains more than 830 full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences, and materials science.
Career & Technical Education
Career & Technical Education includes several hundred full-text titles in the area of vocational information. Areas include computer science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, accounting, and graphic design.
Vocational & Career Collection
The Vocational & Career Collection provides full-text coverage for almost 350 trade and industry related periodicals including American Machinist, Modern Machine Shop, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Hotel and Motel Management, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more.
ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR is a monthly print and online magazine that serves the field of electrical construction. Published by the National Electrical Contractors Association (NECA), it is headquartered in Bethesda, Md., and covers the electrical construction industry. It has been in publication since 1935. With 80,000+ subscribers, the magazine's audience includes electrical contractor firm owners, engineers, estimators, purchasing agents, project managers, supervisors, journeymen and apprentice electricians and others.
Features original articles drawn from the entire range of electrical and electronic engineering, including related fields in mathematics and physics.
Electrical Apparatus is a monthly magazine covering the fields of electromechanical and electronic application and maintenance — the “electrical aftermarket” that serves as the electrical industry’s “field laboratory” and is its second-largest market (after OEMs). The electrical aftermarket is conservatively estimated as representing $10 billion in annual sales (U.S.) related to the maintenance, repair or replacement of electromechanical and electrical equipment.