LibGuides: English OER: OER Books

American Literature Books

Becoming America: An Exploration of American Literature from Precolonial to Post-Revolution
The University of North Georgia Press and Affordable Learning Georgia bring you Becoming America: An Exploration of American Literature from Precolonial to Post-Revolution. Featuring sixty-nine authors and full texts of their works, the selections in this open anthology represent the diverse voices in early American literature. This completely-open anthology will connect students to the conversation of literature that is embedded in American history.
more...less...
Features:
-Contextualizing introductions from Pre- and Early Colonial Literature to Early American Romanticism
-Over 70 historical images
-In-depth biographies of each author
-Instructional Design, including Reading and Review Questions

This textbook is an open Educational Resource. It can be reused, remixed, and reedited freely without seeking permission.
Writing the Nation: A Concise Introduction to American Literature 1865 to Present
Writing the Nation: A Concise Guide to American Literature 1865 to Present is a text that surveys key literary movements and the American authors associated with the movement. Topics include late romanticism, realism, naturalism, modernism, and modern literature.
more...less...
Authored by Dr. Amy Berke, Middle Georgia State University; Robert R. Bleil, PhD, College of Coastal Georgia; Jordan Cofer, Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College.
The Open Anthology of Earlier American Literature
An OER Anthology of Earlier American Literature to 1899; Begins with a variety of Native American texts and ends with Mark Twain.

British Literature Books

English Literature: Victorians and Moderns
Includes sections on the Brownings, Tennyson, Dickens, Wilde, Kipling, Hardy, Bernard Shaw, Yeats, Eliot, Joyce, Orwell, and more. Also has sections that can serve as chapter by chapter supplements for The Turn of the Screw, Heart of Darkness, and Brave New World. Developed by Dr. James Sexton of Camosun College
British Literature I: From the Middle Ages to Neoclassicism and the Eighteenth Century
The University of North Georgia Press and Affordable Learning Georgia bring you British Literature I: From the Middle Ages to Neoclassicism and the Eighteenth Century. Featuring over 50 authors and full texts of their works, this anthology follows the shift of monarchic to parliamentarian rule in Britain, and the heroic epic to the more egalitarian novel as genre.
more...less...
Features:
-Original introductions to The Middle Ages; The Sixteenth Century: The Tudor Age; The Seventeenth Century: The Age of Revolution; and Neoclassicism and the Eighteenth Century
-Over 100 historical images
-Instructional Design, including Reading and Review -Questions and Key Terms
-Forthcoming ancillary with open-enabled pedagogy, allowing readers to contribute to the project

This textbook is an Open Access Resource. It can be reused, remixed, and reedited freely without seeking permission.
British Literature II: Romantic Era to the Twentieth Century and Beyond
The University of North Georgia Press and Affordable Learning Georgia bring you British Literature II: Romantic Era to the Twentieth Century and Beyond.
more...less...
Featuring 37 authors and full texts of their works, the selections in this open anthology represent the literature developed within and developing through their respective eras. This completely-open anthology will connect students to the conversation of literature that has captivated readers in the past and still holds us now.

Features:
-Contextualizing introductions to the Romantic era; the Victorian era; and the Twentieth Century and beyond
-Over 90 historical images
-In-depth biographies of each author
Instructional Design features, including Reading and -Review Questions

This textbook is an Open Educational Resource. It can be reused, remixed, and reedited freely without seeking permission.
British Literature OER Textbook
This is an OER textbook with historical background on many great works of British literature, from the Anglo-Saxon period through the twentieth century. It contains links to free online versions of the texts, but the actual texts are not included in this book.
more...less...
Prepared by Donna Brewer of Motlow State Community/Technical College.

According to the table of contents, the book covers Old English Literature, Middle English Literature, The 16th Century, The Early 17th Century, The Restoration and 18th Century, The Romantic Period, The Victorian Era, and The 20th Century

World Literature Books

World Literature I: Beginnings to 1650
Since the dawn of language, humankind has exchanged stories, either though storytellers around a hearth or through scribes tirelessly copying various texts. This literature allows modern audience a window through which we can peer into the distant past. It provides vital clues for the interpretation of history, language, and culture. It is through literature that one may compare and gain a greater understanding of other civilizations.
more...less...
This anthology comprises of three comprehensive collections that provide samples of literature from around the world and across the ages, ranging from some of oldest tales that have survived into modernity to works from the 1650s. These texts provide an opportunity for readers to engage in extensive analysis of the works themselves and the societies that influenced and were influenced by them.

This anthology appears to be the same book as Compact Anthology of World Literature Parts 1-3: https://ung.edu/university-press/books/compact-anthology-world-literature.php and therefore this book is the companion to Compact Anthology of World Literature II listed below.
Compact Anthology of World Literature II Part 4, 5, and 6
Picks up in the 17th century where the previous collection leaves off.
more...less...
Texts from a variety of genres and cultures are included in each unit. Additionally, each selection or collection includes a brief introduction about the author and text(s), and each includes 3 – 5 discussion questions. Texts in the public domain--those published or translated before 1923--are replicated here. Texts published or translated after 1923 are not yet available in the public domain. In those cases, we have provided a link to a stable site that includes the text. Thus, in Part 6, most of the texts are accessible in the form of links to outside sites. In every case, we have attempted to connect to the most stable links available.

Writing and Composition

Let's Get Writing!
This introduction is designed to exemplify how writers think about and produce text. The layout of our book implies there is a beginning, middle, and end to a writing course, but because writing is both an art and a skill, people will find their own processes for learning, improving, and using these skills. Writing processes differ because we are each looking for a workable schemata that fits our way of thinking. Try out a variety of writing processes and strategies, and find what works for you. If you are not uncomfortable on this journey, you simply are not stretching yet. Learning is prickly, awkward, and risky, so if it does not feel a bit unnerving, push harder and farther.
more...less...
Table of Contents:
-Chapter 1 - Critical Reading
-Chapter 2 - Rhetorical Analysis
-Chapter 3 - Argument
-Chapter 4 - The Writing Process
-Chapter 5 - Rhetorical Modes
-Chapter 6 - Finding and Using Outside Sources
-Chapter 7 - How and Why to Cite
-Chapter 8 - Writing Basics: What Makes a Good Sentence?
Chapter 9 - Punctuation
Chapter 10 - Working With Words: Which Word is Right?
Writing and Literature: Composition as Inquiry, Learning, Thinking, and Communication
In the age of Buzzfeeds, hashtags, and Tweets, students are increasingly favoring conversational writing and regarding academic writing as less pertinent in their personal lives, education, and future careers. Writing and Literature: Composition as Inquiry, Learning, Thinking and Communication connects students with works and exercises and promotes student learning that is kairotic and constructive.
more...less...
Table of Contents:
Why Write About Literature?
-Chapter 1: Reading Like a Professional
-Chapter 2: Forming a Perspective on the Subject
-Chapter 3: Effective Argument
-Chapter 4: Experiencing the Power of Poetry
-Chapter 5: The Truths of Fiction
-Chapter 6: All the World's a Stage
-Chapter 7: Creative Nonfiction, The Fourth Genre
-Chapter 8: The Literary Analysis Essay
-Chapter 9: The Research Paper