Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Database Search Tips
Finding good information resources can be frustrating!
Make it a more satisfying experience by using these strategies:
Use specific search terms - A search for global warming will get thousands of results, but global warming and agricultural impact will result in fewer and more relevant results.
Try using the "Advanced Search" screen - You'll find it easier to add more terms to your search and specify where they should appear - for example, in an article title or subject heading.
Try an exact phrase - Searching for stem cell research will retrieve results with these three words, but to ensure that they appear as a phrase (together and in the same order), try putting them in quotation marks: "stem cell research".
Use "search options" or "limits" - limit your search to full text articles, academic/scholarly articles (what's this?) or to a specific date range. Limit features can often be found in a side menu or on the database's Advanced Search screen.
If you get stuck, contact your campus librarian!
Scholarly, Popular & Trade Journals
Your instructor may require articles from scholarly journals (also called academic or peer-reviewed journals) instead of popular magazines.
There's also something called a trade journal.
What's the difference? Here's a quick overview courtesy of Ithaca College Library.
Online Resources for Articles
When researching Fire Science Technology topics, try some of the following databases for the most valuable information.
CURRENT GALILEO PASSWORD REQUIRED FOR OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS
Career & Technical Education
Career & Technical Education includes several hundred full-text titles in the area of vocational information. Areas include computer science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, accounting, and graphic design.
Vocational & Career Collection
The Vocational & Career Collection provides full-text coverage for almost 350 trade and industry related periodicals including American Machinist, Modern Machine Shop, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Hotel and Motel Management, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more.
Journals & Publications
Fire & Materials
Fire and Materials is an international journal for scientific and technological communications directed at the fire properties of materials and the products into which they are made.
Fire Engineering magazine provides training, education, and management information for fire and emergency services personnel worldwide. Articles are written by experts in the fire service and focus on lessons-learned. Feature articles cover real-life situations such as collapse void search, confined space rescue, high-angle rescue, and extrication.
Fire Technology publishes original contributions, both theoretical and empirical, that contribute to the solution of problems in fire safety science and engineering. It is the leading journal in the field, publishing applied research dealing with the full range of actual and potential fire hazards facing humans and the environment.
Covering major topics in fire protection and suppression, the bimonthly NFPA Journal carries fire investigation reports; annual NFPA statistical studies on large-loss fires, multiple-death fires, firefighter deaths and injuries; articles on fire protection advances and public education; and other information of interest to NFPA members.