LibGuides: Information Literacy Skills: Search, Find and Evaluate Sources: Finding sources

This is how you can find different types of sources in our library.

If you are looking for a book (printed or electronic), you can look it up in the Lanier Tech library catalog. In this catalog , you will find the entire collection of the Lanier Tech Library.

Besides the catalog, you can find e-books in databases such as:

eBook Central
From a single interface, researchers can access over 810,000 ebooks and 1,350 imprints from more than 650 publishers.
eBooks on EBSCOhost
Contains a selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
University of Michigan Press eBook Collection
The UMP Ebook Collection (UMP EBC) is a comprehensive collection of over 1,700 of the University of Michigan Press’s scholarly ebooks.

You can find up-to-date information sources on the internet, but also via the databases below:

News & Newspapers
ProQuest Newspapers offers international, national, regional, and local papers including The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post.
Newspaper Source
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 35 national (U.S.), 375 regional (U.S.), and international newspapers including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, The San Jose Mercury News, etc.

New York Times

Academic Search Complete
This scholarly collection, considered a multidisciplinary database, offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study.
MasterFILE Complete
Designed for public libraries, MasterFILE Complete offers a collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books, videos and other sources covering virtually every subject area.
ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

Census Data
The U.S. Census Bureau offers the most comprehensive demographic data for the United States. The site includes information and statistics on the nation's population, housing, business and manufacturing activity, international trade, farming, and state and local governments.

Issues & Controversies: By the Numbers
Check the By the Numbers section on any article to get statistical data.

Images
EBSCO Images consists of over 100,000 images from Academic Search Premier, Academic Search Elite, MasterFILE Premier, and Middle Search Plus. The images consist of a wide array of photos and maps, with an emphasis on world news and events. Other areas of coverage include contemporary and historical photos of people, places, and the natural kingdom.

Why you need to know the distinction between different source types and types of sources.

Is the question you have formulated clear and do you have search terms you can use then here you can find information about which type of information source to use. Therefore it is useful to find out early on in your assignment what sort of information you need. This will determine where you should search. Is the information you need available in a magazine, a blog, on a company website, or in a business report, or do you need to find the information in an academic paper, thesis, or journal?

Not all information is suitable for every purpose. Sometimes you will need to find out about the latest advances in your subject area, and other times you will need statistics to back up your report.

Before you begin searching, you need to have a clear idea of the different types of information and related sources. This section will help you with making the distinction between the different types of sources. Once you have an overview of the available sources you can make a list of relevant sources for your specific search.

NHL Stenden Library (2023, November 9). Linking your library to Google Scholar [Video]. YouTube. Retrieved on November 9, 2023, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zUENPkGTUbs

UTC Library. (2019, January 23). Source Types [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iEKtYwfTuYM

ANU Library. (2020, August 5). Primary, secondary and tertiary sources [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SzdSAOyZDfI

Libguides offer a selection of information sources on various topics and are created to give more in-depth resource information about a course or a minor. They include titles of books that are useful for study in a particular field, they can include videos about specific topics linked to the aims of the course. Libguides can also contain direct links to articles or journals that are linked to the field of study within a course. They are created and maintained by the information specialists at the Lanier Technical College Library.

Check out the Libguides that were already created for courses of Lanier Tech: LibGuides

Test yourself and see how distinguishing between types of sources will help you find the right information

Worksheet: Collecting and selecting information sources
Worksheet: Compare the collected information

Collecting and selecting information sources
You can use the worksheet to give a brief summary of the content of the sources you found. Furthermore, this worksheet can help you structure and evaluate the information you have gathered.

Compare collected information
This worksheet helps you compare the sources you have selected to see how the information within them contrasts or underpins each other.

Contact Us!

Lanier Technical College Libraries

Marci Manglitz
Director of Library Services
Hall Campus
770-533-6968
mmanglitz@laniertech.edu

Min Su
Librarian
Forsyth Campus
678-341-6636
msu@laniertech.edu

Tina Jordan
Librarian
Dawson Campus
678-513-5221
tjordan@laniertech.edu

Jocelyn Deal
Librarian
Barrow Campus
770-297-4525
jdeal@laniertech.edu