LibGuides: Math OER: OER Books

College Algebra Books

College Algebra
'College Algebra is an introductory text for a college algebra survey course. The material is presented at a level intended to prepare students for Calculus while also giving them relevant mathematical skills that can be used in other classes. The authors describe their approach as "Functions First," believing introducing functions first will help students understand new concepts more completely.
more...less...
Each section includes homework exercises, and the answers to most computational questions are included in the text (discussion questions are open-ended). Graphing calculators are used sparingly and only as a tool to enhance the Mathematics, not to replace it.'
College Algebra - Lamar University
This link leads to the class notes used by Paul Dawkins at Lamar University for his College Algebra class. While it is not a typical textbook, there are links to each section of the notes which lead to layouts for lesson plans that could be used for teaching or for study
more...less...
From the Author: "Here are my online notes for my Algebra course that I teach here at Lamar University, although I have to admit that it’s been years since I last taught this course. At this point in my career I mostly teach Calculus and Differential Equations. Despite the fact that these are my “class notes”, they should be accessible to anyone wanting to learn Algebra or needing a refresher for algebra. I’ve tried to make the notes as self contained as possible and do not reference any book. However, they do assume that you’ve has some exposure to the basics of algebra at some point prior to this. While there is some review of exponents, factoring and graphing it is assumed that not a lot of review will be needed to remind you how these topics work."
College Algebra - Open Stax
College Algebra provides a comprehensive exploration of algebraic principles and meets scope and sequence requirements for a typical introductory algebra course. The modular approach and richness of content ensure that the book meets the needs of a variety of courses. College Algebra offers a wealth of examples with detailed, conceptual explanations, building a strong foundation in the material before asking students to apply what they’ve learned.
more...less...
Jay Abramson of Arizona State University is the senior contributor.
College Algebra - Oregon Institute of Technology
By Gregg Waterman. From the author: The text focuses on the concept of a function and the exploration of the characteristics and applications of linear, quadratic, polynomial, rational, exponential and logarithmic functions. There is also a chapter on matrix methods for solving systems of equations. One of my colleagues and I have both used this text, and it is also being used by some Advanced College Placement (ACP) teachers in high schools.
College Algebra - Utah State University
This link leads to the online textbook version, but also links to the Utah State University site for the course that includes tabs for a number of components used in a class including the syllabus, lessons, quizzes, and more.

Precalculus Books

Precalculus - Arizona State University
Precalculus is adaptable and designed to fit the needs of a variety of precalculus courses. It is a comprehensive text that covers more ground than a typical one- or two-semester college-level precalculus course. The content is organized by clearly-defined learning objectives and includes worked examples that demonstrate problem-solving approaches in an accessible way.
Precalculus - University of Washington
The Mathematics Department of the University of Washington designed its precalculus to concentrate on two goals: A review of the essential mathematics needed to succeed in calculus and an emphasis on problem solving. It does not look like the widely used precalculus texts on the market. The actual text is short and there are not a lot of routine drill exercises. Instead the book emphasizes multi-part story problems in a conscious attempt to engage students at a deeper level in order to prepare them the calculus, science, and engineering courses they will soon be taking.
more...less...
The link takes you to the Internet Archive page for the book, where it can be viewed or downloaded in a variety of formats.
Precalculus
Table of Contents can be viewed under "More Info"
more...less...
Table of Contents:
Chapter 1: Relations and Functions
Chapter 2: Linear and Quadratic Functions
Chapter 3: Polynomial Functions
Chapter 4: Rational Functions
Chapter 5: Furthur Topics in Functions
Chapter 6: Exponential and Logarithmic Functions
Chapter 7: Hooked on Conics
Chapter 8: Systems of Equations and Matrices
Chapter 9: Sequences and the Binomial Theorem
Chapter 10: Foundations of Trigonometry
Chapter 11: Applications of Trigonometry

Calculus Books

Calculus - Lumen Learning
The Boundless Calculus textbook is a college-level, introductory textbook that covers the fascinating subject of Calculus. Boundless works with subject matter experts to select the best open educational resources available on the web, review the content for quality, and create introductory, college-level textbooks designed to meet the study needs of university students.
more...less...
This textbook covers: Building Blocks of Calculus -- Precalculus Review, Functions and Models, Limits Derivatives and Integrals -- Derivatives, Applications of Differentiation, Integrals, Applications of Integration Inverse Functions and Advanced Integration -- Inverse Functions: Exponential, Logarithmic, and Trigonometric Functions, Techniques of Integration, Further Applications of Integration Differential Equations, Parametric Equations, and Sequences and Series -- Differential Equations, Parametric Equations and Polar Coordinates, Infinite Sequences and Series Advanced Topics in Single-Variable Calculus and an Multivariable Calculus -- Vectors and the Geometry of Space, Vector Functions, Partial Derivatives, Multiple Integrals, Vector Calculus, Second-Order Linear Equations
Calculus - Whitman College
The emphasis in this free, online textbook is on problems - calculations and story problems.

Statistics Books

Statistics - University of California Berkeley
This is a free, online textbook that is meant as an introduction to Statistics.
Statistics - Ohio State University
This link leads to a course which, as stated, could also be used as a textbook.
Introductory Statistics
Introductory Statistics follows scope and sequence requirements of a one-semester introduction to statistics course and is geared toward students majoring in fields other than math or engineering. The text assumes some knowledge of intermediate algebra and focuses on statistics application over theory. Introductory Statistics includes innovative practical applications that make the text relevant and accessible, as well as collaborative exercises, technology integration problems, and statistics labs.
Introductory Statistics - Open Textbook
In many introductory level courses today, teachers are challenged with the task of fitting in all of the core concepts of the course in a limited period of time. The Introductory Statistics teacher is no stranger to this challenge. To add to the difficulty, many textbooks contain an overabundance of material, which not only results in the need for further streamlining, but also in intimidated students. Shafer and Zhang wrote Introductory Statistics by using their vast teaching experience to present a complete look at introductory statistics topics while keeping in mind a realistic expectation with respect to course duration and students' maturity level.

Math OER: OER Books

*

College Algebra Books

Precalculus Books

Calculus Books

Statistics Books