Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Database Search Tips
Finding good information resources can be frustrating!
Make it a more satisfying experience by using these strategies:
Use specific search terms - A search for global warming will get thousands of results, but global warming and agricultural impact will result in fewer and more relevant results.
Try using the "Advanced Search" screen - You'll find it easier to add more terms to your search and specify where they should appear - for example, in an article title or subject heading.
Try an exact phrase - Searching for stem cell research will retrieve results with these three words, but to ensure that they appear as a phrase (together and in the same order), try putting them in quotation marks: "stem cell research".
Use "search options" or "limits" - limit your search to full text articles, academic/scholarly articles (what's this?) or to a specific date range. Limit features can often be found in a side menu or on the database's Advanced Search screen.
If you get stuck, contact your campus librarian!
Scholarly, Popular & Trade Journals
Your instructor may require articles from scholarly journals (also called academic or peer-reviewed journals) instead of popular magazines.
There's also something called a trade journal.
What's the difference? Here's a quick overview courtesy of Ithaca College Library.
Online Resources for Articles
CURRENT GALILEO PASSWORD REQUIRED FOR OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS.
National Science Digital Library
NSDL provides an organized point of access to STEM content that is aggregated from a variety of other digital libraries, NSF-funded projects, and NSDL-reviewed web sites. NSDL also provides access to services and tools that enhance the use of this content in a variety of contexts.
With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1,600 titles-with more than 1,270 available in full text. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature.
Science and Technology Collection
Science & Technology Collection contains more than 830 full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences, and materials science.
Journals for Mechatronics
Interdisciplinary journal which integrates publication of all aspects of research on robotics science and engineering with special emphasis being placed on work done in Japan.
Electrical Apparatus is a monthly magazine covering the fields of electromechanical and electronic application and maintenance — the “electrical aftermarket” that serves as the electrical industry’s “field laboratory” and is its second-largest market (after OEMs).
Journal of Computational and Applied Mechanics
The aim of the journal is to publish research papers on theoretical and applied mechanics
Feature articles, commentary, product reviews, legislation, computing and software news, ASME codes and standards and news of note published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
Addresses the news & technology that impacts on the business & careers of professional engineers in all sectors of engineering & manufacturing.