LibGuides: Religion: Articles

Database Search Tips

Finding good information resources can be frustrating!

Make it a more satisfying experience by using these strategies:

Use specific search terms - A search for global warming will get thousands of results, but global warming and agricultural impact will result in fewer and more relevant results.
Try using the "Advanced Search" screen - You'll find it easier to add more terms to your search and specify where they should appear - for example, in an article title or subject heading.
Try an exact phrase - Searching for stem cell research will retrieve results with these three words, but to ensure that they appear as a phrase (together and in the same order), try putting them in quotation marks: "stem cell research".
Use "search options" or "limits" - limit your search to full text articles, academic/scholarly articles (what's this?) or to a specific date range. Limit features can often be found in a side menu or on the database's Advanced Search screen.

If you get stuck, contact your campus librarian!

Online Resources for Articles

Try some of the databases listed below when seeking journal articles on World Religion topics.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR OFF CAMPUS ACCESS TO GALILEO

Academic Search Complete and Research Library are "multidisciplinary" databases that cover articles on ALL subjects. RESEARCH TIP: Check the FULL TEXT box to limit your results to articles with the complete text readily available.

Religion & Philosophy Collection
- This link opens in a new window
includes more than 300 full-text journals covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.
Religion Database
- This link opens in a new window
provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary from the perspectives of many worldwide religions.
Academic Search Complete
- This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection, considered a multidisciplinary database, offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study.
Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects and includes full-text access for thousands of titles, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Humanities International Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete provides the full text of hundreds of journals, books, and other published sources from around the world pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) as well as the full text of more than 800 journals.
Arts & Humanities Database
- This link opens in a new window
Arts & Humanities Database includes both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies.

JSTOR

JSTOR Login
To register for a new free account:
Visit the JSTOR registration page. Provide an email address. The email address you choose to register with will be your default username.
What can I do with a Personal account?
Personal accounts can help with your research, whether you are a student with access to an institutional subscription or an independent researcher:
Read up to 100 articles every 30 days online for free. Save your citations to your personal Workspace.

Full Text Religion Journals

Sociology of Religion
- This link opens in a new window
Devoted exclusively to sociology of religion. Carries broad range of articles on theoretical & empirical issues. Is a forum for scholarship in classic tradition of comparative, historical & theoretical work.
Journal for the Scientific Study of Religion
Articles, research notes and reviews of significant scientific research on religious institutions and experience for students of religion and of social science.
Journal for the Study of Religion, Nature, and Culture
Contains theological reflections on ecological issues.
Journal of the American Academy of Religion
Articles, essays, review essays, book reviews and lists of recently published books on all aspects of religion.

Contact Us!

Lanier Technical College Libraries

Marci Manglitz
Director of Library Services
Hall Campus
770-533-6968
mmanglitz@laniertech.edu

Min Su
Librarian
Forsyth Campus
678-341-6636
msu@laniertech.edu

Tina Jordan
Librarian
Dawson Campus
678-513-5221
tjordan@laniertech.edu

Jocelyn Deal
Librarian
Barrow Campus
770-297-4525
jdeal@laniertech.edu