GALILEO, Georgia's virtual library, is an initiative of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia. GALILEO is an online library portal to authoritative, subscription-only information that isn’t available through free search engines or internet directories.
GALILEO includes more than 100 databases indexing thousands of periodicals and scholarly journals. Over 10,000 journal titles are provided in full-text. Other resources include encyclopedias, business directories, and government publications.
Be sure to check out the Articles Tab on all of Lanier Tech's Research Guides for databases that are narrowed down to your specific class assignment or program of study.
GALILEO is a large set of databases providing 24/7 online access to information resources not freely available on the web, including:
HOW TO ACCESS GALILEO OFF CAMPUS
Current Lanier Tech students, faculty and staff can log in to GALILEO using their school email and password
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals, magazines and other resources, including access to full-text, peer-reviewed journals. Additionally, the database includes access to video content updated monthly from the Associated Press, with footage from 1930 to present.
Films on Demand consists of 15,500 video titles (77,000 segments) in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health, and Science. Also included is the new collection of United Newsreels which includes an additional 260 titles (1,250 segments).
Lanier Technical Colleges has access to the Nursing Video Collection and Career and Technical Education Collection.
Literary Reference Center Plus is a full-text database that combines information from major reference works, books, and literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO. Literary Reference Center includes thousands of plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full-text literary journals; book reviews; classic and contemporary poems and short stories; classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures.
ProQuest Central brings together 30 highly used ProQuest databases to create the largest single academic research resource.
Researchers can choose to search individual databases for targeted research or search all at once to find relevant results and information from other disciplines. This allows cross-searching with other ProQuest business resources as well as creation of RSS feeds, content alerts, Smart Search, article linking, and much more.