Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Database Search Tips
Finding good information resources can be frustrating!
Make it a more satisfying experience by using these strategies:
Use specific search terms - A search for global warming will get thousands of results, but global warming and agricultural impact will result in fewer and more relevant results.
Try using the "Advanced Search" screen - You'll find it easier to add more terms to your search and specify where they should appear - for example, in an article title or subject heading.
Try an exact phrase - Searching for stem cell research will retrieve results with these three words, but to ensure that they appear as a phrase (together and in the same order), try putting them in quotation marks: "stem cell research".
Use "search options" or "limits" - limit your search to full text articles, academic/scholarly articles (what's this?) or to a specific date range. Limit features can often be found in a side menu or on the database's Advanced Search screen.
If you get stuck, contact your campus librarian!
Scholarly, Popular & Trade Journals
Your instructor may require articles from scholarly journals (also called academic or peer-reviewed journals) instead of popular magazines.
There's also something called a trade journal.
What's the difference? Here's a quick overview courtesy of Ithaca College Library.
Online Resources for Articles
When researching Cosmetology topics, try some of the following databases for the most valuable information.
INSTRUCTIONS FOR OFF CAMPUS ACCESS TO GALILEO
Career & Technical Education
Career & Technical Education includes several hundred full-text titles in the area of vocational information. Areas include computer science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, accounting, and graphic design.
Vocational & Career Collection
The Vocational & Career Collection provides full-text coverage for almost 350 trade and industry related periodicals including American Machinist, Modern Machine Shop, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Hotel and Motel Management, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more.
Journals & Publications
Articles and commentary on various aspects of the hair care profession: tips and techniques, new products and styles, business strategies. Full Text: 02/01/1995 to present
Modern Salon connects with salon professionals at every stage of their careers.
From a future professional entering cosmetology school to a new hair stylist earning her first chair to the owner/manager of the most successful salons and spas, Modern Salon Media is there, helping professionals choose the right products, services and education.
Modern Salon is the salon industry's head-to-toe beauty resource. Salon professionals prefer Modern Salon because it's the only brand that gives them what they value most: step-by-step education, along with creative inspiration, to help them propel their careers forward. We showcase and demonstrate the products and tools to help salons best serve their clients' needs.
NAILS Magazine, an award-winning publication with over 30 years' industry experience, serves professional nail technicians and salon owners, bringing them together with the marketers who make the products they want and need. NAILS is committed to providing the best magazine for nail professionals covering the latest in a wide variety of topics, including Technique, Business, Style, and Health stories.
NAILS offers design and editorial so dramatic that its graphics and editorial teams have earned a remarkable 30 Maggie Awards for editorial and design excellence. NAILS was named Best Overall Trade Publication in 2009 by the Western Publications Association.
NAILS is owned by Bobit Business Media, a Torrance, Calif.-based business-to-business media company that has been in business since 1961.
United States Beauty Salons Industry Report
An industry report of the beauty shops industry in United States is presented from publisher Barnes Reports, with topics including industry establishments, sales revenue & employment trends and number of employees working in the industry. Full Text: 10/01/2009 to present