Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Database Search Tips
Finding good information resources can be frustrating!
Make it a more satisfying experience by using these strategies:
Use specific search terms - A search for global warming will get thousands of results, but global warming and agricultural impact will result in fewer and more relevant results.
Try using the "Advanced Search" screen - You'll find it easier to add more terms to your search and specify where they should appear - for example, in an article title or subject heading.
Try an exact phrase - Searching for stem cell research will retrieve results with these three words, but to ensure that they appear as a phrase (together and in the same order), try putting them in quotation marks: "stem cell research".
Use "search options" or "limits" - limit your search to full text articles, academic/scholarly articles (what's this?) or to a specific date range. Limit features can often be found in a side menu or on the database's Advanced Search screen.
If you get stuck, contact your campus librarian!
Scholarly, Popular & Trade Journals
Your instructor may require articles from scholarly journals (also called academic or peer-reviewed journals) instead of popular magazines.
There's also something called a trade journal.
What's the difference? Here's a quick overview courtesy of Ithaca College Library.
Online Resources for Articles
Try some of the databases listed below when researching Culinary Arts topics.
For more database options: Browse GALILEO by Subject or by Type ... OR consult a librarian.
CURRENT GALILEO PASSWORD REQUIRED FOR OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS
Academic Search Complete
This scholarly collection, considered a multidisciplinary database, offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Career & Technical Education
Career & Technical Education includes several hundred full-text titles in the area of vocational information. Areas include computer science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, accounting, and graphic design.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Subject areas include culinary arts, demographics and statistics, development and investment, food and beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management and administrative practices, leisure and business travel, market trends, technology, and more.
Vocational & Career Collection
The Vocational & Career Collection provides full-text coverage for almost 350 trade and industry related periodicals including American Machinist, Modern Machine Shop, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Hotel and Motel Management, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more.
Recipes, cooking techniques, and product and food recommendations from the same kitchen featured on the cooking show, America's Test Kitchen. Select content and a free trial are available online. Magazine issues with recipes are available in print at the Barrow campus library.
Nation's Restaurant News
A leading resource for business news in the foodservice industry.
Global guide to cooking, entertaining, and food travel.
Recipes, cooking techniques, and entertaining with an emphasis on Southern lifestyle and culture. In addition to online access, recent print issues are available at the Oakwood and Forsyth campus libraries.