Here are some databases to use as you're searching for images to use for your visual analysis essay.
Remember, you'll be looking for images, photography, advertisements, and/or classical art!
Try these databases via GALILEO, and please chat with, call, or email a librarian if you need more help.
With this one, students may want to browse collections and limit to "medium" for photograps/etc as pictured:
Students can think of key words, the browse isn't effective. For example, in the image below, the word "protest" was searched. Next, limit the types of images or narrow them down.
MasterFile, limit to image types. This database has full text magazines and other publications, so advertisements and other images can be found. Use advanced or Boolean searching to find images.
Vanishing Georgia, mostly photos, images "from Georgia's past."
Arts & Humanities Database,you can, for example, limit here to "editorial cartoon," as this database contains criticism, scholarly journals, etc.
E-books are a great resource for finding images for this project!
We recommend E-Books by EBSCO or Ebook Central by Proquest.
You can also search for E-Books in your library catalog.
Try search terms such as "photography AND journalism," or searching an artist's name. See an example of an E-Book full of photographs below that was retrieved using those search terms.
Museum websites are a great resource for locating images for your analysis. Use search terms in Google or another browser, such as "museum" AND "online exhibits." Listed below are a few to try.